Almost the end of term

11025955_10204776996163838_4189354318596206667_nHere I am at my college’s special themed day (middle of the photo), which was last Saturday. A week ago now and it feels much longer although the term feels so short… That’s something I’ve noticed about uni — time feels both condensed and stretched out. I can never tell how much time has passed or even what day of the week it is at times.

So far, as far as I can remember, I have kept to my New Year’s Resolution to write something for my novel every day! I have also had a rather busy week in other respects. Last Friday I handed in an essay I had been working on and then Saturday was the college day which involved dressing in all green and wearing a cape which was fun!

Throughout this week I have:

  • Attended all of my scheduled lectures this week! (Yes, it seems like a strange thing to put as an achievement, but at this stage in the term that is something to be happy about.)
  • Finished lecture reading for one module and started it for another.
  • Written and submitted an essay.
  • Attended a very interesting talk on Richard III which I might discuss further when I talk about the research and motivations behind my novel.
  • Went out for a meal with friends, a meal with my sister and also a meal with my tutor group.
  • Attended college ‘question time’.

I’ve noticed that since the beginning of term the contexts of my weeks have got progressively less exciting but I guess that is a by-product of having to do actual work. I managed less than one hundred words on my novel today but I can pinpoint as to exactly why that was — it’s the start of a scene I am writing at the moment which I hate and it’s also a scene not in my original plan. Figures.

Happier writing tomorrow and –

Good night

Emma xx

One Reply to “Almost the end of term”

  1. Hi Emma,

    I first came across your work at the Sony Young Movellist of the Year event and was really impressed by your concept for Girl With a Thousand Faces.

    FicShelf is an online publishing platform, helping to professionalise the world of self-publishing, and supporting authors to make a living from their talent.

    We’re looking for new authors to join us for the launch of our brand new social publishing platform, and was wondering whether you might be interested? We would like to grow our platform with our authors, so anyone who joins us at this stage will be fundamental in the development of the platform as a whole, helping us to help other authors.

    Please drop me a line to florence@ficshelf.com.

    Best,

    Florence

    Like

Leave a Reply

