September Update

This has been an interesting month, that’s for sure. On the writing front, my original WIP has fallen behind and has been replaced in my affections by my new favourite story. It was inspired by a dream (a bit like Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight in that respect…) but over 20,000 words in and I haven’t reached the dream scene just yet.

It’s probably a bad thing that I’m abandoning my trusty WIP for a New and Shiny project, but I’ll be heading back to it once I’m at uni again. It’s a story that I find it easier to tell when I’m sitting somewhere completely quiet, such as the uni library, so I’ll be back to it in no time! I still love the characters and what they stand for, I just got stuck in the muddy depths between two scenes. In this draft of that story I’m having to bridge the gaps I left in the first draft, which is slightly tedious. There are only a few more scenes though until I am done with that and back to writing what I love.

Surprise: the endless summer is almost over. Cue shocked faces. I head back to my uni town next week, alongside two of my housemates. I have to admit it is going to be odd heading back there after so long away, especially since most of the other people at uni are travelling hundreds of miles to come back whereas my journey is very short.

Most people have been absent from the city for fourth months, whereas I’ve been heading back every few weeks for the day with family. It’s an odd one.

SAM_2394-min

I could do a long post about the lessons I’ve learned from finishing my first year and my horror at no longer being a fresher, but that doesn’t feel quite right. This is the place where I talk about writing and life and somehow my uni concerns don’t quite fit in yet. I’m sure I can make them fit in over time, but right now this isn’t the place for them.

There are weeks left before the first lecture comes, and terms at uni are so short, while this summer has been so long.

I’m still writing, still reading, just now I’m waiting for life to press the play button again

Much love

Emma

Leave a Reply

