Flashback Friday

A few days ago I was looking at Google to see what comes up when you type in my name. The first few results are about a hat designer, and then some about me, and then some about the hat designer, and then about me, repeated for the first eight of so pages. It brought up some things that I had almost forgotten — and some that I had — from a few years ago, so I’ve decided to share them here. It also provoked me to go searching out some more about my past writing. Here goes!

Young Poets Network

Apparently I was a winner of a postcard poetry challenge way back in 2011. Now I remember entering the competition, because the postcard I got back was beautiful (of a Hawaiian surfer) and is in fact on my wall at university still. But I’d completely forgotten what I sent in, but apparently when you type in my name on Google you’ll find out…

Screenshot 2016-04-06 at 21.12.05 Screenshot 2016-04-06 at 21.11.57 Screenshot 2016-04-06 at 21.11.44

It was interesting to see this, especially as it is from the time when I can’t really remember much of what I wrote, aside from my early novels, some fanfiction and shorter pieces. The writing a 4-5 year period from about 12-16/17 and are probably close to 500,000++ words all told, if you include the fragments and fanfiction. Apart from on my old laptop I don’t really come into contact with this writing very much now, for obvious reasons.

Sony Young Movellist

When searching for a write-up I can remember seeing on the Independent’s website for the competition, it appeared to have vanished. I managed to find a copy elsewhere, so have taken a screenshot of the slightly cringeworthily cheerful quote from seventeen year old me from the Independent article, and then some more things I’ve found along the way.

Screenshot 2016-04-06 at 21.08.48 Screenshot 2016-04-06 at 21.05.14

Leave a Reply

