Writing Live: 12th August

I’m back, little while since I’ve posted here! Yesterday went to see Suicide Squad with Meg – great movie – and have been writing poetry with my arts group the last few weeks as well as everything else writing related or not.

Thought I’d re-add the Robot Dreams cover to these posts, seeing as that is whaScreenshot 2016-04-02 at 14.21.40t I’m really working on at the moment. I’m just over 10,000 words into Ghosts in the Tower and really need to do some more research and thinking about what I want to come next.

Meanwhile, the beginning of Robot Dreams has been absolutely pulled apart (by me) and I’m now working on putting it back together in a way that makes a lot more sense. This is a much more serious attempt at improving things than the last time I second drafted something, so yay!

The last three weeks or so have been an interesting journey, with writing output declining when I started to think about After Uni Plans but that’s been put on hold once more, so I’m able to write much more easily again.

I’ve found a writing crawl I’d like to try some time and see how it works for me, to try and start filling the gaps between Draft One and Draft Two — I’ve got about 6,000 words in this sequence to write before the gap is filled, and then will have to go back and add 2,000 words earlier on to fill in how the two sets of characters meet. It’s strange, how before I wrote this book I’d never realised how important ripping up your stories can be, in order to find what should be lying at its core.

Of course, once the gaps are filled the first draft will still need to be completely rewritten, but a lot of that will be more in a streamlining the plot rather than getting hold of a bulldozer way. So that’ll be nice too!

The word crawl I’ll be utilising in my writing at some point hopefully is the Follow the Adventure Arc Crawl over at the NaNoWriMo forums. If you’re wondering why I haven’t given a link, it’s because by the time anyone reads this it’s likely that the forums will have rebooted for the 2016 season. My responses will be one sided, I don’t really want to duplicate someone else’s crawl prompts in full when I can’t even credit them by their real name.

I got distracted so will be looking at the writing crawl some other time.

Total: ~800 words

Leave a Reply

