Reading Regularly: 2017 Book One [Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington]

I’ve decided to branch out a little bit on this here blog, I’ve realised that I spend so much time on here talking about my own writing and a lot of time in the rest of my life reading books for uni. I don’t get that much time to read anymore and, as I’m sure any uni student who loves to read will tell you, that kinda sucks. So I’ve decided to do something about it.

Some of the bloggers I like to follow do challenges where they try and read 100 bSaving Sophie: A gripping psychological thriller with a brilliant twist by [Carrington, Sam]ooks in a year or some such target. For me at the moment, with my uni workload, promising to read that much that is just for me to enjoy is too much right now. Instead, I thought I’d focus on making the most of the reading time I do have. So, from now on, I’ll do my best to read when I feel like it but also try and reflect more on what I do decide to read. For now at least, this won’t be full form book reviews but more like my ramblings about the topic. I’d love to know what everyone else thinks too!

The first book I read this year was Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington. It was an interesting read and one that I’m not quite sure how I feel about. There were good points and then there were things about the book I didn’t enjoy, so it’s tricky to work out how exactly those balance.

At the start of the book I was a little unsure about how it was going in terms of the characters. I didn’t really feel connected to Sophie, her mother or her father at all.

That changed quite quickly thankfully and I was able to read the book in what was probably a medium length of time for me, a couple of days all told. I’ve been leaving a lot more books half-read recently — which won’t be counting on this blog as I don’t think it’s fair to talk badly about something you haven’t finished! — so getting through the book shows I found parts of the book intriguing.

However, there were a few aspects of the book that made it less enjoyable for me. Sophie felt quite unlikeable and her friends were even worse. The character I liked the sound of the most was one I don’t think we actually ever met, her friend who was murdered. This was really problematic for me as my lack of interest in Sophie didn’t really fit with the focus of the book on Saving Sophie. 

I really liked the treatment of Karen’s anxiety and how that had come about but felt that her character needed a little bit more depth to show us who she really was, separately from the issues that she faced.

When the climatic section of the book came around I found myself tearing through the pages to find out exactly what was going to happen, so that was a bonus. And the ending: wow!

Overall, I’d have to give this book around a 3/5. It was a book I did enjoy and I did finish quite quickly. There were elements of it though that didn’t quite work for me and it is something, like many crime thrillers, that I would just read the once.

Leave a Reply

