Writing

Everything is Lies by Helen Callaghan Review

Everything is Lies by Helen Callaghan
Review

Having loved Helen Callaghan’s first book, I jumped at the chance to read this one. The twists and turns made for a great evening spent guessing what would happen to mother (in the past) and daughter (in the present).

Everything is Lies was a book that grew on me while I read it.

I loved the opening chapters, but then found the introduction of the notebooks a little jarring, before the novel regained my full attention and had me flipping through the pages by the end. At first I just wanted to hear about Sophia’s life, as her mother was already dead, but by the end I cared just as much about both characters. The twist was very well done and I didn’t predict it until very near the end, which made the close of the novel much more enjoyable.

There were a few times when the difference between the privileged lives of some of the characters distanced me a little from the novel, but overall this was a fantastic reading experience. The cult aspect of the book was a lot different from what I was expecting going into reading, which made for a nice change from some of the more predictable books I’ve read recently.

Looking forward to reading this author’s next book!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest feedback, thank you to NetGalley and Penguin U.K. for the opportunity to read this book.

Standard

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.